Author Topic: Cannot change default language - CiviCRM 4.1  (Read 2367 times)

Offline FadeOUT

  • I post occasionally
  • **
  • Posts: 69
  • Karma: 0
  • IT Development at UK Charity
  • CiviCRM version: 4.1.3
  • CMS version: Drupal 7.14
  • MySQL version: 5.1.57-community
  • PHP version: 5.3
Cannot change default language - CiviCRM 4.1
« on: February 21, 2012, 08:35:52 am »
Hi,

I've followed the instructions here: http://wiki.civicrm.org/confluence/display/CRMDOC41/CiviCRM+Localisation - but I still only have the choice of English (United States) under Localization. Any suggestions? Has this changed in 4.1..?

Thank you..!

Offline Erik Hommel

  • Forum Godess / God
  • I live on this forum
  • *****
  • Posts: 1489
  • Karma: 51
    • EE-atWork
  • CiviCRM version: from 3.3.5 to 4.3
  • CMS version: Drupal 6.20 and Drupal 7
  • MySQL version: 5.5.29-0ubuntu0.12.10.1
  • PHP version: PHP 5.3.10-1ubuntu3 with Suhosin-Patch (cli)
Re: Cannot change default language - CiviCRM 4.1
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2012, 04:52:28 am »
What folder are your uncompressed translation files in?
Consultant/project manager at EEatWork and CiviCooP (http://www.civicoop.org/)

Offline FadeOUT

  • I post occasionally
  • **
  • Posts: 69
  • Karma: 0
  • IT Development at UK Charity
  • CiviCRM version: 4.1.3
  • CMS version: Drupal 7.14
  • MySQL version: 5.1.57-community
  • PHP version: 5.3
Re: Cannot change default language - CiviCRM 4.1
« Reply #2 on: February 23, 2012, 04:37:59 am »
Hi,

Thanks for the reply; I've extracted the language modules into: [base]\modules\civicrm\l10n

That's correct, isn't it?

Offline Erik Hommel

  • Forum Godess / God
  • I live on this forum
  • *****
  • Posts: 1489
  • Karma: 51
    • EE-atWork
  • CiviCRM version: from 3.3.5 to 4.3
  • CMS version: Drupal 6.20 and Drupal 7
  • MySQL version: 5.5.29-0ubuntu0.12.10.1
  • PHP version: PHP 5.3.10-1ubuntu3 with Suhosin-Patch (cli)
Re: Cannot change default language - CiviCRM 4.1
« Reply #3 on: February 23, 2012, 04:41:51 am »
Hmmmm can you see the translation folder in the l10n folder?
Consultant/project manager at EEatWork and CiviCooP (http://www.civicoop.org/)

Offline FadeOUT

  • I post occasionally
  • **
  • Posts: 69
  • Karma: 0
  • IT Development at UK Charity
  • CiviCRM version: 4.1.3
  • CMS version: Drupal 7.14
  • MySQL version: 5.1.57-community
  • PHP version: 5.3
Re: Cannot change default language - CiviCRM 4.1
« Reply #4 on: March 01, 2012, 07:49:24 am »
The translation folders are in the l10n folder - e.g. en_GB. Is that what you mean? (There's no folder named "translation".)

Offline Erik Hommel

  • Forum Godess / God
  • I live on this forum
  • *****
  • Posts: 1489
  • Karma: 51
    • EE-atWork
  • CiviCRM version: from 3.3.5 to 4.3
  • CMS version: Drupal 6.20 and Drupal 7
  • MySQL version: 5.5.29-0ubuntu0.12.10.1
  • PHP version: PHP 5.3.10-1ubuntu3 with Suhosin-Patch (cli)
Re: Cannot change default language - CiviCRM 4.1
« Reply #5 on: March 01, 2012, 11:41:31 pm »
That is indeed what I mean, just making sure the obvious things are correct  ;) Weird.....
Consultant/project manager at EEatWork and CiviCooP (http://www.civicoop.org/)

Offline davidpuntocom

  • I’m new here
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
  • CiviCRM version: 4.1.1.
  • CMS version: Joomla 2.5.3.
  • MySQL version: 5.5.19-55
  • PHP version: 5.2.17
Re: Cannot change default language - CiviCRM 4.1
« Reply #6 on: March 24, 2012, 06:23:17 am »
Hi! same problem but in Joomla. At joomla 2.5.3 the destination folder is not as shown in the documentation:

site_root/administrator/components/com_civicrm/civicrm/l10n/

The only possibility is:

site_root/administrator/components/com_civicrm/l10n/

Thanks

Offline Donald Lobo

  • Administrator
  • I’m (like) Lobo ;)
  • *****
  • Posts: 15744
  • Karma: 463
    • CiviCRM site
  • CiviCRM version: 4.2+
  • CMS version: Drupal 7, Joomla 2.5+
  • MySQL version: 5.5.x
  • PHP version: 5.4.x
Re: Cannot change default language - CiviCRM 4.1
« Reply #7 on: March 24, 2012, 07:55:24 am »

pretty sure the destination folder should be:

site_root/administrator/components/com_civicrm/civicrm/l10n/

I might have not understood the question :(

lobo
Reading Give and Take by Adam Grant. If Civi!CRM has helped your org, give back and help others on the forum, contribute code, documentation. Make the project sustainable.

Happy Holidays :)

Offline davidpuntocom

  • I’m new here
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
  • CiviCRM version: 4.1.1.
  • CMS version: Joomla 2.5.3.
  • MySQL version: 5.5.19-55
  • PHP version: 5.2.17
Re: Cannot change default language - CiviCRM 4.1
« Reply #8 on: March 25, 2012, 05:06:59 am »
Hi, first of all thank you for your feedback.

Second, I'm not so good at english language, so is normal not to understand.

And finally, the question:

Where to put in joomla 2.5.3. with civicrm 4.1.1. the directory /l10n ?

I've try both:

site_root/administrator/components/com_civicrm/civicrm/l10n/

site_root/administrator/components/com_civicrm/l10n/

with no result.

Thanks!

Offline davidpuntocom

  • I’m new here
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
  • CiviCRM version: 4.1.1.
  • CMS version: Joomla 2.5.3.
  • MySQL version: 5.5.19-55
  • PHP version: 5.2.17
Re: Cannot change default language - CiviCRM 4.1
« Reply #9 on: March 25, 2012, 02:23:47 pm »
Hi, first of all thank you for your feedback.

Second, I'm not so good at english language, so is normal not to understand.

And finally, the question:

Where to put in joomla 2.5.3. with civicrm 4.1.1. the directory /l10n ?

I've try both:

site_root/administrator/components/com_civicrm/civicrm/l10n/

site_root/administrator/components/com_civicrm/l10n/

with no result.

Thanks!

Oh!, so sorry, I was at:

site_root/components/com_civicrm/civicrm/l10n/

and the correct is:

site_root/administrator/components/com_civicrm/civicrm/l10n/

Thank you!

Offline FadeOUT

  • I post occasionally
  • **
  • Posts: 69
  • Karma: 0
  • IT Development at UK Charity
  • CiviCRM version: 4.1.3
  • CMS version: Drupal 7.14
  • MySQL version: 5.1.57-community
  • PHP version: 5.3
Re: Cannot change default language - CiviCRM 4.1
« Reply #10 on: April 11, 2012, 07:39:30 am »
That is indeed what I mean, just making sure the obvious things are correct  ;) Weird.....
Finally got some time on this again...

It seems that I simply forgot to copy over the .sql files, as detailed right here in the instructions: http://wiki.civicrm.org/confluence/display/CRMDOC40/CiviCRM+Localisation

Thank you all again..! :-[