Author Topic: Drupal Node reference by a CiviCRM entity ?  (Read 888 times)

Offline Jul

  • I’m new here
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
  • CiviCRM version: 4.3.3
  • CMS version: 7.19
  • MySQL version: 5
  • PHP version: 5.23
Drupal Node reference by a CiviCRM entity ?
« on: May 15, 2013, 03:33:02 am »
Hi there,

I have been looking for a generic solution in order to solve the following problem:

I have a content type, let's say "Gallery" for example, on the Drupal side, and I want to link a gallery to a CiviCRM event.
I want to link a gallery to an event, for example.
Now, if both content types where on the drupal side, the way this would be solved would be by adding node references to one of the content types.

I am looking for a similar solution which could link a drupal object to a civicrm one. How can I tell CiviCRM where to look for an event gallery, when said gallery exists out of CiviCrm ?

Could you please give me some hints - or even modules, who knows - which would help me solve this problem?


Many thanks in advance,
Julien
« Last Edit: May 15, 2013, 06:49:27 am by Jul »

Offline petednz

  • Forum Godess / God
  • I’m (like) Lobo ;)
  • *****
  • Posts: 4175
  • Karma: 146
    • Fuzion
  • CiviCRM version: 3.x - 4.x
  • CMS version: Drupal 6 and 7
Re: Drupal Node reference by a CiviCRM entity ?
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2013, 12:23:08 pm »
There is a field that does this - a civicrm contact reference field - module - doesn't it come as default now?
pete davis : www.fuzion.co.nz : connect + campaign + communicate

Offline Jul

  • I’m new here
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
  • CiviCRM version: 4.3.3
  • CMS version: 7.19
  • MySQL version: 5
  • PHP version: 5.23
Re: Drupal Node reference by a CiviCRM entity ?
« Reply #2 on: May 16, 2013, 07:09:01 am »
Yes thank you, it does come by default by as the name says, only references contacts, nothing else.

However, I've found this in the meantime:
drupal.org/project/civicrm_reference_fields

I think it's even more fitting. It allows referecing with events and other things. Solves part of my problem, hope it's useful for others too :)

Offline Eileen

  • Forum Godess / God
  • I’m (like) Lobo ;)
  • *****
  • Posts: 3820
  • Karma: 189
    • Fuzion
Re: Drupal Node reference by a CiviCRM entity ?
« Reply #3 on: May 16, 2013, 11:31:26 am »
Interesting - I had been using civicrm entity module for this purposed (alongside standard entity reference fields)

http://drupal.org/project/1923028/git-instructions

Make today the day you step up to support CiviCRM and all the amazing organisations that are using it to improve our world - http://civicrm.org/contribute