Author Topic: CiviCase board  (Read 12894 times)

Offline claire sauve

  • I’m new here
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 4
CiviCase board
« on: May 22, 2008, 11:14:27 am »
This is the place for discussion around the CiviCase project.  The project home can be found here.
Everyone is encouraged to start new topics in the board as we discuss the different aspects of the specifications.

« Last Edit: May 28, 2008, 04:22:12 pm by claires »

roberto.salvo

  • Guest
Re: CiviCase board
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2010, 06:52:52 am »
Hi All,
we have a structure like this:

- Admin ( that can do everything on the cases)
- Coordinators ( that check all the activities of his case and execute only some activities of his cases)
- Operators ( that create cases with precompiled timeline activities and can't modify the activities assigned to coodinators, obviously)

How can i implement such a structure?

I found problems or misunderstanding in this topic:
if i use the tag <creator>1</creator> in the "case coordinator" case role in the xml config, then I log in as an operator, I create a case and I see the case roles, I will see that the operator logged is present in the case roles list as "case coordinator"...I think this is wrong

Does it exist a way to let the system use the relationships stored in DB to assign the right case role to the creator of the case? for example...I log as a coordinator, I create a case, I'm the coordinator of that case...I log as an Operator, I create a case, I'm the operator of that case...

Thanks

roberto.salvo

  • Guest
Re: CiviCase board
« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2010, 07:02:47 am »
Anybody can tell me about the difference of functionalities inside civicase between Case Manager (<manager>1</manager>) and Case Creator (<creator>1</creator>)?

Thanks

Offline Dave Greenberg

  • Administrator
  • I’m (like) Lobo ;)
  • *****
  • Posts: 5727
  • Karma: 226
    • My CiviCRM Blog
Re: CiviCase board
« Reply #3 on: July 23, 2010, 08:06:58 am »
Currently "Case Creator" and "Case Manager" are simply labels in CiviCase - and do not influence permissions to access or do tasks.

The <creator> XML tag controls what role is assigned to the user who creates the case. The <manager> tag controls which role is listed as the Case Manager when viewing a list of cases.

Your requirement that the case creator is assigned to a different case role based on who is logged in is not currently supported. You might be able to use a hook to modify the case role assignment process - perhaps based on the Drupal role. You'll first need to think about how you're identifying to the system which staff person has which "position" (e.g. Admin, Coordinator, Operator)
Protect your investment in CiviCRM by  becoming a Member!

roberto.salvo

  • Guest
Re: CiviCase board
« Reply #4 on: July 28, 2010, 03:14:20 am »
Hi folks,
when i create a case with a standard prefilled timeline, the prefilled activities are listed with "the nearer one to do" in the bottom of the list, could it be changed? because it's more logic for us that the activity that I have to do first is the first I see in the list.

Thank you

Rob

Offline Dave Greenberg

  • Administrator
  • I’m (like) Lobo ;)
  • *****
  • Posts: 5727
  • Karma: 226
    • My CiviCRM Blog
Re: CiviCase board
« Reply #5 on: July 28, 2010, 11:24:14 am »
To confirm, the current DEFAULT order for listing case activities is:
- overdue activities by date ASCENDING are listed first
- all other activities by date DESCENDING

This approach pushes "completed" activities to the bottom of the list and overdue activities ("Scheduled" status and due date less than now) to the top. For Phys Health, this seemed to make the most sense - but certainly is a bit of a compromise. I think it might be acceptable if you can come up with an alternative to the default sort which puts overdue AND scheduled activities in date order ASCENDING followed by completed activities in date DESCENDING. What would not be good is to have all the completed activities at the top of the list - which is what would happen if we simply used date ASCENDING regardless of status.

The query is constructed in CRM/Case/BAO/Case.php getCaseActivity() function line, and the default sort is set on line 968:
Code: [Select]
            $orderBy = " ORDER BY overdue_date ASC, display_date DESC, ca.id DESC";

Protect your investment in CiviCRM by  becoming a Member!

roberto.salvo

  • Guest
Re: CiviCase board
« Reply #6 on: September 16, 2010, 03:03:50 am »
Hi All,
I noticed that, on the demo site, when I create a new case "Housing Support", the contact name of the case manager "Homeless Services Coordinator" is automatically filled, How can I implement this feature on my site? Do I have to adjust the xml file config?

Thx

Rob.

Offline demeritcowboy

  • Ask me questions
  • ****
  • Posts: 556
  • Karma: 42
  • CiviCRM version: Always the latest!
  • CMS version: Drupal 6 mostly, still evaluating 7.
  • MySQL version: Mix of 5.0 / 5.1 / 5.5
  • PHP version: 5.3, usually on Windows
Re: CiviCase board
« Reply #7 on: September 16, 2010, 05:26:27 am »
It's whichever role has <creator>1</creator> in the config definition. Check the sample config file.

If the manager is not the same as the creator and you want the manager auto-filled, you will need to add some custom hook code.

roberto.salvo

  • Guest
Re: CiviCase board
« Reply #8 on: September 16, 2010, 06:57:05 am »
Hi All,
Thank you for the previous post.

Now I put 3 type of cases, I created a contact and I created a case for the first type of case, I looked at the case summary page and everything sounded good...THEN I put another type of case to the same contact, I looked at the corresponding case summary page and I found as CASE TYPE, in the top side of the page, the first type of case that I had put..NOT THE ACTUAL TYPE OF CASE...

I went inside the code in the file CRM/Case/BAO/Case.php:
    static function getCaseType( $caseId, $colName = 'label' )
    {
        $caseType = null;
        if ( !$caseId ) return $caseType;
       
        $sql = "
    SELECT  ov.{$colName}
      FROM  civicrm_case ca 
INNER JOIN  civicrm_option_group og ON og.name='case_type'
INNER JOIN  civicrm_option_value ov ON (ca.case_type_id=ov.value AND ov.option_group_id=og.id)";
   
        return CRM_Core_DAO::singleValueQuery( $sql );
    }

I think this code is wrong because the query grabs all the type names of cases but the function "singleValueQuery" gives me only the first row of the results (I don't know why?) and then the $caseId of the case (passed correctly as argument) is never used so I couldn't ever have the right case type name

Please, could someone give me some explanation about this!!

Ps. on your demo it seems to work ;)

Rob

Offline demeritcowboy

  • Ask me questions
  • ****
  • Posts: 556
  • Karma: 42
  • CiviCRM version: Always the latest!
  • CMS version: Drupal 6 mostly, still evaluating 7.
  • MySQL version: Mix of 5.0 / 5.1 / 5.5
  • PHP version: 5.3, usually on Windows
Re: CiviCase board
« Reply #9 on: September 16, 2010, 07:59:41 am »
What version are you using?

roberto.salvo

  • Guest
Re: CiviCase board
« Reply #10 on: September 16, 2010, 08:46:46 am »
3.2.3 Drupal PHP5 29586

Offline Dave Greenberg

  • Administrator
  • I’m (like) Lobo ;)
  • *****
  • Posts: 5727
  • Karma: 226
    • My CiviCRM Blog
Re: CiviCase board
« Reply #11 on: September 16, 2010, 09:16:17 am »
Roberto - this bug was unfortunately introduced in 3.2.3. It was "announced" on the 3.2.3 blog post and a patch provided:

http://civicrm.org/blogs/shot/civicrm-323-released
Protect your investment in CiviCRM by  becoming a Member!

Offline demeritcowboy

  • Ask me questions
  • ****
  • Posts: 556
  • Karma: 42
  • CiviCRM version: Always the latest!
  • CMS version: Drupal 6 mostly, still evaluating 7.
  • MySQL version: Mix of 5.0 / 5.1 / 5.5
  • PHP version: 5.3, usually on Windows
Re: CiviCase board
« Reply #12 on: September 16, 2010, 09:24:50 am »

Offline Dave Smith

  • I post occasionally
  • **
  • Posts: 63
  • Karma: 1
  • CiviCRM version: 4.2.7
  • CMS version: Drupal 7
Re: CiviCase board
« Reply #13 on: September 22, 2010, 04:48:11 am »
Could you give some advice on how to install a patch?

Thanks

Offline Dave Greenberg

  • Administrator
  • I’m (like) Lobo ;)
  • *****
  • Posts: 5727
  • Karma: 226
    • My CiviCRM Blog
Re: CiviCase board
« Reply #14 on: September 22, 2010, 09:53:39 am »
Some info here: http://drupal.org/node/14231

(google is your friend for questions like this :-) )
Protect your investment in CiviCRM by  becoming a Member!