Author Topic: Summary of case involvement - bug in case count?  (Read 3678 times)

Barry1

  • Guest
Summary of case involvement - bug in case count?
« on: February 02, 2009, 01:44:37 pm »
Hi there,
I have found what appears to be a bug in the "summary of case involvement" on CiviCase dashboard - it is showing 17 as the number of ongoing 'referral to counsellor' cases, in "view all cases" when there are only two.

The result appeared after I set up a new user, and entered the second referral case under that username. The case ID # of the 'referral to counsellor' case entered immediately prior to the bug generating one was #16, so that may be related to the issue.
Cheers, Barry

Offline Dave Greenberg

  • Administrator
  • I’m (like) Lobo ;)
  • *****
  • Posts: 5760
  • Karma: 226
    • My CiviCRM Blog
Re: Summary of case involvement - bug in case count?
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2009, 06:57:43 pm »
Hi Barry - Thx for testing CiviCase and reporting this. I'm having a hard time replicating it on my installs. :-(

Can you see if you can trigger it on our public CiviCase sandbox:
http://case.dev.civicrm.org/

Also - what do you see when you click the link for your 17 cases on the dashboard summary (it should take you to Find Cases with the case type and status passed in)?
Protect your investment in CiviCRM by  becoming a Member!

Barry1

  • Guest
Re: Summary of case involvement - bug in case count?
« Reply #2 on: February 03, 2009, 12:27:03 pm »
"Also - what do you see when you click the link for your 17 cases on the dashboard summary (it should take you to Find Cases with the case type and status passed in)?"

Yep, that works just fine and gives me the right result - two cases. I'll have try on sandbox.
Cheers, Barry

Barry1

  • Guest
Re: Summary of case involvement - bug in case count?
« Reply #3 on: February 03, 2009, 01:23:12 pm »
Okay - I wasn't able to generate the result quickly on sandbox. On my setup here, I had a look at the database via phpmyadmin (civicrm_case), and discovered a whole bunch of case numbers with status 'is deleted = 0' - that weren't cases showing up in civicase and they explained the wrong count...I got a bit random, figuring it's a trial, I can start again, and deleted those phantom cases, and now the count works fine, and seems to be adding the numbers correctly when I add a new case.

I still have no idea how I generated that original problem - perhaps when setting up config files for case types, somehow? I was learning that as I went and changed my mind about some case type names *shrugs*
Cheers, Barry

Offline Dave Greenberg

  • Administrator
  • I’m (like) Lobo ;)
  • *****
  • Posts: 5760
  • Karma: 226
    • My CiviCRM Blog
Re: Summary of case involvement - bug in case count?
« Reply #4 on: February 03, 2009, 02:58:28 pm »
Cool - thx for the followup on this one. When you have a few minutes it would be helpful if you could describe the organization / use cases you're testing out CiviCase for - and even attaching a copy of your configuration files so others can potentially learn from / use some of what you're building.
Protect your investment in CiviCRM by  becoming a Member!

Barry1

  • Guest
Re: Summary of case involvement - bug in case count?
« Reply #5 on: February 15, 2009, 03:09:24 pm »
"When you have a few minutes it would be helpful if you could describe the organization / use cases you're testing out CiviCase for - and even attaching a copy of your configuration files so others can potentially learn from / use some of what you're building."

Apologies, I had hoped to be further ahead on this, sooner, but other things have come up - an update in answer to your request:

We are a small (6.5 FTE) social service organisation in New Zealand. We offer Social Work, Youth Work, Parenting Programmes, and School Holiday Programmes.

We are initially exploring using CiviCase for our Social Work & related report generation - if this works, i can see us then gradually extending to use more of CiviCrm's other capabilities.

After the initial conversation with our social workers, it looks as if we will try a single case-type "Social Work" and record different aspects (activities & issues e.g. referal to counsellor, mental health, domestic violence, ) underneath that. Some activities (e.g. "Accept referral from organisation x") we will want to auto-schedule certain follow up activities. I am also interested to see if we can conveniently insert Genograms (a diagram used by social workers to represent key relationships in the client's life) - from quick investgation so far I can see we can include a custom data field with an image file in the contact record - but it displays a very small image in the interface, and then one needs to open the file in another application to see full size, so I hope to look into that more.

Regards, Barry

Offline Dave Greenberg

  • Administrator
  • I’m (like) Lobo ;)
  • *****
  • Posts: 5760
  • Karma: 226
    • My CiviCRM Blog
Re: Summary of case involvement - bug in case count?
« Reply #6 on: February 16, 2009, 08:49:40 am »
Barry - thx for the update. As this is a first release for CiviCase we are especially interested in finding out how folks our using it. What's working well, what's not quite fitting, improvement priorities for next phase etc.

Also, please jump in and add or modify the existing doc if you see things that you think will help others learn about and use CiviCase.

RE: Genograms - you can customize the template for the Contact Summary (or possibly the "Relationships" tab) to display an attached image file in a desired size.

http://wiki.civicrm.org/confluence/display/CRMDOC/Customizing+CiviCRM+Screens

Going forward, a module which renders CiviCRM / CiviCase relationships from the DB as Genograms would be pretty cool :-) Given that you can extend relationships with custom data - you could add properties for Emotional relationship coding, etc.
Protect your investment in CiviCRM by  becoming a Member!

Barry1

  • Guest
Re: Summary of case involvement - bug in case count?
« Reply #7 on: February 17, 2009, 12:21:17 pm »
Thanks Dave,
Have sorted the image size now. Yes- rendering genograms from the relationships or summary tag would be very cool :)
Cheers, Barry