CiviCRM Community Forums (archive)

*

News:

Have a question about CiviCRM?
Get it answered quickly at the new
CiviCRM Stack Exchange Q+A site

This forum was archived on 25 November 2017. Learn more.
How to get involved.
What to do if you think you've found a bug.



  • CiviCRM Community Forums (archive) »
  • Old sections (read-only, deprecated) »
  • Support »
  • Using CiviCRM »
  • Using Core CiviCRM Functions (Moderator: Yashodha Chaku) »
  • Activity Dashlet Reports "False"
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Activity Dashlet Reports "False"  (Read 1234 times)

VRAZER

  • I post occasionally
  • **
  • Posts: 49
  • Karma: 1
Activity Dashlet Reports "False"
September 01, 2010, 06:55:35 am
I know a few other people have expressed this same problem and have indicated that it was due to either a 500 server error or improper DNS resolution, but it seems to be happening for one of my clients too and neither of those is the case.

Basically if they log into CiviCRM (a Joomla installed version) and look at the Activity dashlet (the only one in there right now), they simply get the word false instead of a list of activities.  I checked via Firebug to make sure that the AJAX call was resolving and getting a return result.  Here is the JSON that is being returned by the AJAX call.

{"title":"Activities","content":false,"fullscreen":false}

So the AJAX service is actually returning false as the content of the Activity dashlet.  How can we fix this?

Any help is appreciated.  Thanks!

Dave Greenberg

  • Administrator
  • I’m (like) Lobo ;)
  • *****
  • Posts: 5760
  • Karma: 226
    • My CiviCRM Blog
Re: Activity Dashlet Reports "False"
September 02, 2010, 12:38:57 pm
I've seen this on my local install (a while back) but not sure how I fixed it :-(  Have you tried any other dashlets?
Protect your investment in CiviCRM by  becoming a Member!

VRAZER

  • I post occasionally
  • **
  • Posts: 49
  • Karma: 1
Re: Activity Dashlet Reports "False"
September 03, 2010, 02:37:10 pm
Hi Dave,

Yes. It looks like they're all returning false.

Any ideas?

Dave Greenberg

  • Administrator
  • I’m (like) Lobo ;)
  • *****
  • Posts: 5760
  • Karma: 226
    • My CiviCRM Blog
Re: Activity Dashlet Reports "False"
September 03, 2010, 04:44:32 pm
I would try adding debug statement(s) to CRM/Core/BAO/Dashboard.php, getDashletInfo() function - and loading the URL that returns the JSON results (the one that showed you the content:false etc.)

You may have to dig another level down - since it looks like this called function is returning the 'false' instead of data:
Code: [Select]
$dao->content = CRM_Utils_System::getServerResponse( $url );

Might also check webserver logs for a clue.
Protect your investment in CiviCRM by  becoming a Member!

VRAZER

  • I post occasionally
  • **
  • Posts: 49
  • Karma: 1
Re: Activity Dashlet Reports "False"
September 09, 2010, 11:03:24 am
Thanks, Dave.  I'll do some digging with this and see what I find.

LanceD

  • Guest
Re: Activity Dashlet Reports "False"
September 20, 2010, 06:48:20 am
Dave,

I think I found the problem.  Our CiviCRM install is only accessible if you view it by HTTPS.  Since there is sensitive information in the back end of CiviCRM, we don't allow you to view that info unless it is protected.  Grant that it's not sensitive to the level of payment information, but since there are functions in the back end of Civi to process a payment, we have to keep that data secure.

What's happening is two things.

1) The HTTPS url getting called in the response object from CRM_Utils_System::getServerResponse is returning false if you hit it through the Civi PHP code, but if you go to that same URL directly, it returns the content.

2) If you remove the HTTPS from the URL and try to fetch the data that way, our server is set up to redirect you back to an HTTPS URL.  I should stress though that this is NOT what is happening in this case.  It only happens if I go and recode that getServerResponse function to remove the HTTPS.

Why might the request object in CRM_Utils_System be returning false when handed an HTTPS URL?  It's a valid certificate and URL.

Dave Greenberg

  • Administrator
  • I’m (like) Lobo ;)
  • *****
  • Posts: 5760
  • Karma: 226
    • My CiviCRM Blog
Re: Activity Dashlet Reports "False"
September 20, 2010, 02:21:48 pm
Can you add debug statement(s) in getServerResponse() and see what's happening?
Protect your investment in CiviCRM by  becoming a Member!

Pages: [1]
  • CiviCRM Community Forums (archive) »
  • Old sections (read-only, deprecated) »
  • Support »
  • Using CiviCRM »
  • Using Core CiviCRM Functions (Moderator: Yashodha Chaku) »
  • Activity Dashlet Reports "False"

This forum was archived on 2017-11-26.