CiviCRM Community Forums (archive)

*

News:

Have a question about CiviCRM?
Get it answered quickly at the new
CiviCRM Stack Exchange Q+A site

This forum was archived on 25 November 2017. Learn more.
How to get involved.
What to do if you think you've found a bug.



  • CiviCRM Community Forums (archive) »
  • Old sections (read-only, deprecated) »
  • Support »
  • Using CiviCRM (Moderator: Dave Greenberg) »
  • Profile error in Joomla
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Profile error in Joomla  (Read 1866 times)

mgcato

  • I’m new here
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
Profile error in Joomla
November 17, 2007, 05:50:46 am
I've been fighting with this for a while now and would welcome any ideas.  We're trying to enable a member directory search using a CiviCRM Profile which I've linked to the User Menu.  I've made the index.php edits to enable session handling.  The profile previews wonderfully and I can run it by using the /administrator URL and profile ID from the wiki documentation.  The menu item also pulls up the profile fine.  The problem comes when I try to actually run a search, with text or empty to see the full directory.  We're on Joomla 1.0.12 stable adn CiviCRM 1.9.11960.

I get the following error:

unrecoverable error
    Sorry. A non-recoverable error has occurred.

    We experienced an unexpected error. Please file an issue with the backtrace

    Return to home page.

backTrace

/home/ucsdacom/public_html/administrator/components/com_civicrm/civicrm/CRM/Core/Error.php, backtrace, 255
/home/ucsdacom/public_html/administrator/components/com_civicrm/civicrm/CRM/Core/DAO.php, fatal, 527
/home/ucsdacom/public_html/administrator/components/com_civicrm/civicrm/CRM/Profile/Page/Listings.php, getFieldValue, 215
/home/ucsdacom/public_html/administrator/components/com_civicrm/civicrm/CRM/Core/Invoke.php, run, 858
/home/ucsdacom/public_html/administrator/components/com_civicrm/civicrm/CRM/Core/Invoke.php, profile, 124
/home/ucsdacom/public_html/components/com_civicrm/civicrm.php, invoke, 67
/home/ucsdacom/public_html/components/com_civicrm/civicrm.php, civicrm_invoke, 21
/home/ucsdacom/public_html/index.php, require_once, 238

Any ideas?

Donald Lobo

  • Administrator
  • I’m (like) Lobo ;)
  • *****
  • Posts: 15963
  • Karma: 470
    • CiviCRM site
  • CiviCRM version: 4.2+
  • CMS version: Drupal 7, Joomla 2.5+
  • MySQL version: 5.5.x
  • PHP version: 5.4.x
Re: Profile error in Joomla
November 17, 2007, 12:15:33 pm

This is a bug with CiviCRM and will be fixed in the next 1.9 revision release (early next week)

You can track the progress here: http://issues.civicrm.org/jira/browse/CRM-2432

lobo
A new CiviCRM Q&A resource needs YOUR help to get started. Visit our StackExchange proposed site, sign up and vote on 5 questions

Donald Lobo

  • Administrator
  • I’m (like) Lobo ;)
  • *****
  • Posts: 15963
  • Karma: 470
    • CiviCRM site
  • CiviCRM version: 4.2+
  • CMS version: Drupal 7, Joomla 2.5+
  • MySQL version: 5.5.x
  • PHP version: 5.4.x
Re: Profile error in Joomla
November 17, 2007, 12:36:56 pm

I managed to reproduce the problem and hence filed the issue. I started to take a look at the code to figure out what was happening and realized that I forgot to add the session stuff to the front end code. I had forgotten to make the change when i upgraded to joomla 1.0.13. I added the lines as documented in the wiki and things worked as expected.

Considering that i managed to get the exact same error, i'm pretty certain this is a session issue. Can u please check your joomla index.php and check that

Code: [Select]
// These lines are needed for proper function of CiviCRM at the frontend
session_name( md5( $mosConfig_live_site . '_frontend' ));
session_start();

// mainframe is an API workhorse, lots of 'core' interaction routines
$mainframe = new mosMainFrame( $database, $option, '.' );
$mainframe->initSession();

lobo
A new CiviCRM Q&A resource needs YOUR help to get started. Visit our StackExchange proposed site, sign up and vote on 5 questions

lcdweb

  • Forum Godess / God
  • I live on this forum
  • *****
  • Posts: 1620
  • Karma: 116
    • www.lcdservices.biz
  • CiviCRM version: many versions...
  • CMS version: Joomla/Drupal
  • MySQL version: 5.1+
  • PHP version: 5.2+
Re: Profile error in Joomla
November 27, 2007, 09:22:11 pm
I just upgrade from 1.8 to 1.9.11960 on a Joomla 1.0.13 installation and had no problems with the profile search form on the frontend. I tested it with an empty form (to pull all records) and with criteria.

The problem may be that you're running Joomla 1.0.12, not the current stable (...13). There were changes to session handling in .13 -- using the older version may be creating the problem in CiviCRM.
support CiviCRM through 'make it happen' initiatives!
http://civicrm.org/mih

mgcato

  • I’m new here
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
Re: Profile error in Joomla
January 12, 2008, 05:15:58 pm
Just wanted to update that I did get the issue resolved and you were correct Lobo.  I had the code in the index.php file but I read the instructions TOO literally and inserted the lines "ABOVE the "$mainframe..." line" like this:

// mainframe is an API workhorse, lots of 'core' interaction routines
// These lines are needed for proper function of CiviCRM at the frontend
session_name( md5( $mosConfig_live_site . '_frontend' ));
session_start();
$mainframe = new mosMainFrame( $database, $option, '.' );
$mainframe->initSession();

I went back and looked at your code and once I matched it it worked!!!  Thanks for your patience and help.

// These lines are needed for proper function of CiviCRM at the frontend
session_name( md5( $mosConfig_live_site . '_frontend' ));
session_start();

// mainframe is an API workhorse, lots of 'core' interaction routines
$mainframe = new mosMainFrame( $database, $option, '.' );
$mainframe->initSession();

Pages: [1]
  • CiviCRM Community Forums (archive) »
  • Old sections (read-only, deprecated) »
  • Support »
  • Using CiviCRM (Moderator: Dave Greenberg) »
  • Profile error in Joomla

This forum was archived on 2017-11-26.