CiviCRM Community Forums (archive)

*

News:

Have a question about CiviCRM?
Get it answered quickly at the new
CiviCRM Stack Exchange Q+A site

This forum was archived on 25 November 2017. Learn more.
How to get involved.
What to do if you think you've found a bug.



  • CiviCRM Community Forums (archive) »
  • Old sections (read-only, deprecated) »
  • Support »
  • Using CiviCRM »
  • Post-installation Setup and Configuration (Moderator: Dave Greenberg) »
  • moving fields on the New contact page
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: moving fields on the New contact page  (Read 1047 times)

Chelcone

  • I post occasionally
  • **
  • Posts: 82
  • Karma: 1
  • CiviCRM version: 3.4.0
  • CMS version: Drupal 6.*
  • MySQL version: MySQL 5.*
moving fields on the New contact page
May 05, 2011, 05:53:04 am
Hi Everyone

I need to change the way that fields are displayed when we click add new contact. I need to move the address information into the contact details box at the top as our users are saying that it will help them with speed on data input. where do i need to go to recode the layout?

Thanks in advance

Chelcone

Donald Lobo

  • Administrator
  • I’m (like) Lobo ;)
  • *****
  • Posts: 15963
  • Karma: 470
    • CiviCRM site
  • CiviCRM version: 4.2+
  • CMS version: Drupal 7, Joomla 2.5+
  • MySQL version: 5.5.x
  • PHP version: 5.4.x
Re: moving fields on the New contact page
May 05, 2011, 07:09:20 am

http://wiki.civicrm.org/confluence/display/CRMDOC40/Customizing+CiviCRM+Screens

A new CiviCRM Q&A resource needs YOUR help to get started. Visit our StackExchange proposed site, sign up and vote on 5 questions

darkchild

  • I post occasionally
  • **
  • Posts: 33
  • Karma: 2
  • “…more than kisses, letters mingle souls…”- John D
  • CiviCRM version: 4.0.1
  • CMS version: joomla & drupal
  • MySQL version: 5.0.91
  • PHP version: 5.2.14
Re: moving fields on the New contact page
May 05, 2011, 08:29:32 am
In addition, I have found that jquery is a tool to easily move fields around.

http://api.jquery.com/category/manipulation/

Chelcone

  • I post occasionally
  • **
  • Posts: 82
  • Karma: 1
  • CiviCRM version: 3.4.0
  • CMS version: Drupal 6.*
  • MySQL version: MySQL 5.*
Re: moving fields on the New contact page
May 06, 2011, 07:14:24 am
Thanks for the info guys.

I have now decided that i dont need to move the fields from the address section to the contact information section, all i need to do is make sure that the address section is set to open by default (not collapsed on open). Lobo, it says what to look for in your link but i cant seem to see it in the contact.tpl file and this is where is says that its calling the data from  file, am i looking in the right place?

Thanks

Chelcone

Erik Hommel

  • Forum Godess / God
  • I live on this forum
  • *****
  • Posts: 1773
  • Karma: 59
    • EE-atWork
  • CiviCRM version: all sorts
  • CMS version: Drupal
  • MySQL version: Ubuntu's latest LTS version
  • PHP version: Ubuntu's latest LTS version
Re: moving fields on the New contact page
May 08, 2011, 11:31:06 pm
You are looking in the right place, in the CRM/Contact/Form/Contact.tpl a separate file is included for every block? They are in the folder CRM/Contact/Form/Edit and there is for instance and Address/tpl
Consultant/project manager at EEatWork and CiviCooP (http://www.civicoop.org/)

Chelcone

  • I post occasionally
  • **
  • Posts: 82
  • Karma: 1
  • CiviCRM version: 3.4.0
  • CMS version: Drupal 6.*
  • MySQL version: MySQL 5.*
Re: moving fields on the New contact page
May 16, 2011, 05:01:55 am
ok i'll look there, thanks for the heads up!

Chelcone

  • I post occasionally
  • **
  • Posts: 82
  • Karma: 1
  • CiviCRM version: 3.4.0
  • CMS version: Drupal 6.*
  • MySQL version: MySQL 5.*
Re: moving fields on the New contact page
May 18, 2011, 07:14:15 am
OK I know where everything I need is now and I understand the way these files work. I am however bashing my head against the wall to find a bit of code to control if the address block is already open on the page load. I have been searching all over and cant find what controls this function. Any ideas where it is?

Cheers

Chelcone

Erik Hommel

  • Forum Godess / God
  • I live on this forum
  • *****
  • Posts: 1773
  • Karma: 59
    • EE-atWork
  • CiviCRM version: all sorts
  • CMS version: Drupal
  • MySQL version: Ubuntu's latest LTS version
  • PHP version: Ubuntu's latest LTS version
Re: moving fields on the New contact page
May 18, 2011, 07:41:40 am
If you are just trying to make sure that the address section is opened at the start, you change the line in CRM/Contact/Form/Edit/Address.tpl:
Code: [Select]
<div id = "addressBlockId" class="crm-accordion-wrapper crm-address-accordion crm-accordion-closed">
to:
Code: [Select]
<div id = "addressBlockId" class="crm-accordion-wrapper crm-address-accordion crm-accordion-open">
Consultant/project manager at EEatWork and CiviCooP (http://www.civicoop.org/)

Chelcone

  • I post occasionally
  • **
  • Posts: 82
  • Karma: 1
  • CiviCRM version: 3.4.0
  • CMS version: Drupal 6.*
  • MySQL version: MySQL 5.*
Re: moving fields on the New contact page
May 20, 2011, 02:49:59 am
Perfect!!!! thank you!

That is exactly what i was looking for!

Chelcone

  • I post occasionally
  • **
  • Posts: 82
  • Karma: 1
  • CiviCRM version: 3.4.0
  • CMS version: Drupal 6.*
  • MySQL version: MySQL 5.*
Re: moving fields on the New contact page
June 09, 2011, 03:22:38 am
I dont suppose you know where i would find the same for address block on the advanced search page? I can find the controller for every section other than address in the CRM/Contact/Form/Search/advanced.tpl file.

Any help would be great :D

Thanks

Erik Hommel

  • Forum Godess / God
  • I live on this forum
  • *****
  • Posts: 1773
  • Karma: 59
    • EE-atWork
  • CiviCRM version: all sorts
  • CMS version: Drupal
  • MySQL version: Ubuntu's latest LTS version
  • PHP version: Ubuntu's latest LTS version
Re: moving fields on the New contact page
June 09, 2011, 04:10:03 am
Not without checking, but you will have to go a little deeper into the templates that are opened with the {include} in the advanced.tpl?
Consultant/project manager at EEatWork and CiviCooP (http://www.civicoop.org/)

Chelcone

  • I post occasionally
  • **
  • Posts: 82
  • Karma: 1
  • CiviCRM version: 3.4.0
  • CMS version: Drupal 6.*
  • MySQL version: MySQL 5.*
Re: moving fields on the New contact page
June 13, 2011, 04:42:07 am
I have Dug and dig, i cant find the exact one for the search.

Any ideas?

cheers

Chelcone

  • I post occasionally
  • **
  • Posts: 82
  • Karma: 1
  • CiviCRM version: 3.4.0
  • CMS version: Drupal 6.*
  • MySQL version: MySQL 5.*
Re: moving fields on the New contact page
June 20, 2011, 04:35:05 am
Managed to find the line that expands all boxes in AdvancedCriteria.tpl in :

Code: [Select]
{foreach from=$allPanes key=paneName item=paneValue}
      <div class="crm-accordion-wrapper crm-ajax-accordion crm-{$paneValue.id}-accordion {if $paneValue.open eq 'true' and $openedPanes.$paneName}crm-accordion-closed{else}crm-accordion-open{/if}">

Swapping the last closed and open around opened all the tabs.

Thanks for the assisstance

Pages: [1]
  • CiviCRM Community Forums (archive) »
  • Old sections (read-only, deprecated) »
  • Support »
  • Using CiviCRM »
  • Post-installation Setup and Configuration (Moderator: Dave Greenberg) »
  • moving fields on the New contact page

This forum was archived on 2017-11-26.