CiviCRM Community Forums (archive)

*

News:

Have a question about CiviCRM?
Get it answered quickly at the new
CiviCRM Stack Exchange Q+A site

This forum was archived on 25 November 2017. Learn more.
How to get involved.
What to do if you think you've found a bug.



  • CiviCRM Community Forums (archive) »
  • Old sections (read-only, deprecated) »
  • Support »
  • Using CiviCRM »
  • Post-installation Setup and Configuration (Moderator: Dave Greenberg) »
  • Merge link wont show up on 'check for duplicate contacts'
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Merge link wont show up on 'check for duplicate contacts'  (Read 940 times)

markimus

  • I post occasionally
  • **
  • Posts: 75
  • Karma: 0
Merge link wont show up on 'check for duplicate contacts'
June 01, 2012, 03:14:10 pm
I can seem to find a way to allow a user to merge contacts by using the merge tool in the contact summary
I have 'merge duplicate contacts' turned on

I tried the same on the demo site and get the same issue
How do I get the merge button to show up on this page? 
Success is the ability to go from one failure to another with no loss of enthusiasm.

Donald Lobo

  • Administrator
  • I’m (like) Lobo ;)
  • *****
  • Posts: 15963
  • Karma: 470
    • CiviCRM site
  • CiviCRM version: 4.2+
  • CMS version: Drupal 7, Joomla 2.5+
  • MySQL version: 5.5.x
  • PHP version: 5.4.x
Re: Merge link wont show up on 'check for duplicate contacts'
June 01, 2012, 07:54:59 pm

that warning does not have the merge button.

The  'merge duplicate contacts'  is a permission that allows you to access the merge functionality via search or the admin screens

lobo
A new CiviCRM Q&A resource needs YOUR help to get started. Visit our StackExchange proposed site, sign up and vote on 5 questions

markimus

  • I post occasionally
  • **
  • Posts: 75
  • Karma: 0
Re: Merge link wont show up on 'check for duplicate contacts'
June 01, 2012, 11:27:07 pm
Your right 'merge' doesn't show up but it does show up on this message when I am logged in as user 1

So I am not sure what permission is needed to turn it on
Success is the ability to go from one failure to another with no loss of enthusiasm.

Donald Lobo

  • Administrator
  • I’m (like) Lobo ;)
  • *****
  • Posts: 15963
  • Karma: 470
    • CiviCRM site
  • CiviCRM version: 4.2+
  • CMS version: Drupal 7, Joomla 2.5+
  • MySQL version: 5.5.x
  • PHP version: 5.4.x
Re: Merge link wont show up on 'check for duplicate contacts'
June 02, 2012, 05:31:34 pm

Can you take a screenshot of the message when u r logged in as user 1.

thanx

lobo
A new CiviCRM Q&A resource needs YOUR help to get started. Visit our StackExchange proposed site, sign up and vote on 5 questions

markimus

  • I post occasionally
  • **
  • Posts: 75
  • Karma: 0
Re: Merge link wont show up on 'check for duplicate contacts'
June 02, 2012, 06:32:56 pm
Sure
Here you go. 
Other info
Drupal 6
CiviCRM 4.1.1
Success is the ability to go from one failure to another with no loss of enthusiasm.

Donald Lobo

  • Administrator
  • I’m (like) Lobo ;)
  • *****
  • Posts: 15963
  • Karma: 470
    • CiviCRM site
  • CiviCRM version: 4.2+
  • CMS version: Drupal 7, Joomla 2.5+
  • MySQL version: 5.5.x
  • PHP version: 5.4.x
Re: Merge link wont show up on 'check for duplicate contacts'
June 03, 2012, 06:45:41 pm

Can u try and reproduce this issue on demo (note that the demo user is NOT uid 1)

Also u can add debug statements to the code here:

CRM/Contact/Form/Contact.php, line 1164 or so. From a look at the code note that the merge link is only display when editing an already existing contact

lobo
A new CiviCRM Q&A resource needs YOUR help to get started. Visit our StackExchange proposed site, sign up and vote on 5 questions

Hershel

  • Forum Godess / God
  • I’m (like) Lobo ;)
  • *****
  • Posts: 4640
  • Karma: 176
    • CiviHosting
  • CiviCRM version: Latest
  • CMS version: Mostly WordPress and Drupal
Re: Merge link wont show up on 'check for duplicate contacts'
June 04, 2012, 07:56:44 am
Actually the issue is that in CRM/Contact/Form/Contact.php line 1084 the 3 links are fetched via

Code: [Select]
   $contactLinks = CRM_Contact_BAO_Contact_Utils::formatContactIDSToLinks( $ids, true, true, $contactID );
In CRM/Contact/BAO/Contact/Utils.php line 606 (in formatContactIDSToLinks) we have:

Code: [Select]
        $permissions = array( 'view'  => 'view all contacts',
                              'edit'  => 'edit all contacts',
                              'merge' => 'administer CiviCRM' );

That should clear up the mystery I think.

Seems that last one should be edit all contacts also.

Hershel
CiviHosting and CiviOnline -- The CiviCRM hosting experts, since 2007

See here for the official: What to do if you think you've found a bug.

Dave Greenberg

  • Administrator
  • I’m (like) Lobo ;)
  • *****
  • Posts: 5760
  • Karma: 226
    • My CiviCRM Blog
Re: Merge link wont show up on 'check for duplicate contacts'
June 04, 2012, 04:25:37 pm
Hershel - thanks for diagnosing this! Since we have an explicit 'merge duplicate contacts' permission - it makes sense to use that to control whether merge option is included. I've filed and committed fix for 4.2:

http://issues.civicrm.org/jira/browse/CRM-10318
Protect your investment in CiviCRM by  becoming a Member!

Hershel

  • Forum Godess / God
  • I’m (like) Lobo ;)
  • *****
  • Posts: 4640
  • Karma: 176
    • CiviHosting
  • CiviCRM version: Latest
  • CMS version: Mostly WordPress and Drupal
Re: Merge link wont show up on 'check for duplicate contacts'
June 05, 2012, 03:43:19 am
> Hershel - thanks for diagnosing this!

My pleasure. Thanks for the fix and the update.
CiviHosting and CiviOnline -- The CiviCRM hosting experts, since 2007

See here for the official: What to do if you think you've found a bug.

markimus

  • I post occasionally
  • **
  • Posts: 75
  • Karma: 0
Re: Merge link wont show up on 'check for duplicate contacts'
August 29, 2012, 04:46:33 pm
Thanks Again Hershel

I recently updated to 4.1.5 and had to redo this fix again.  Glad this was here to help. 

Success is the ability to go from one failure to another with no loss of enthusiasm.

Pages: [1]
  • CiviCRM Community Forums (archive) »
  • Old sections (read-only, deprecated) »
  • Support »
  • Using CiviCRM »
  • Post-installation Setup and Configuration (Moderator: Dave Greenberg) »
  • Merge link wont show up on 'check for duplicate contacts'

This forum was archived on 2017-11-26.