CiviCRM Community Forums (archive)

*

News:

Have a question about CiviCRM?
Get it answered quickly at the new
CiviCRM Stack Exchange Q+A site

This forum was archived on 25 November 2017. Learn more.
How to get involved.
What to do if you think you've found a bug.



  • CiviCRM Community Forums (archive) »
  • Old sections (read-only, deprecated) »
  • Support »
  • Installing CiviCRM »
  • Drupal Installations (Moderator: Piotr Szotkowski) »
  • Multi Site installation
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Multi Site installation  (Read 1513 times)

Jamie074

  • I’m new here
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
  • CiviCRM version: 4.2.6
  • CMS version: drupal 7.x
  • MySQL version: 5.x
  • PHP version: 5.x
Multi Site installation
December 30, 2012, 03:14:08 am
Hi Guys,

I am trying to install a CiViCRM module on a drupal 7.x multisite, which has 2 other sites running inside it.

Now I installed CiviCRM correctly no problems,  but I come to changing this "define( 'CIVICRM_MULTISITE', 1 );" I can not find it in the civicrm.settings.php, is there something I am missing? Can I add the line myself to the config?

Kind regards,

Jamie

Hershel

  • Forum Godess / God
  • I’m (like) Lobo ;)
  • *****
  • Posts: 4640
  • Karma: 176
    • CiviHosting
  • CiviCRM version: Latest
  • CMS version: Mostly WordPress and Drupal
Re: Multi Site installation
December 30, 2012, 04:30:01 am
From what instructions do you find reference to CIVICRM_MULTISITE? I'm not sure that's relevant any longer. See here:

http://wiki.civicrm.org/confluence/display/CRMDOC42/Multi+Site+Installation
CiviHosting and CiviOnline -- The CiviCRM hosting experts, since 2007

See here for the official: What to do if you think you've found a bug.

Jamie074

  • I’m new here
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
  • CiviCRM version: 4.2.6
  • CMS version: drupal 7.x
  • MySQL version: 5.x
  • PHP version: 5.x
Re: Multi Site installation
December 30, 2012, 04:45:13 am
My apologies, seems all I need to do is enable it within the multi site configuration in the updated version.

I am currently getting an error on step 2 with "'FROM civicrm_domain cd WHERE cd.id = 1)"

INSERT INTO `civicrm_domain` (`name`, `description`, `version`)
SELECT 'site 2', 'second test site', cd.version FROM civicrm_domain cd WHERE cd.id = 1;

Also isn't SELECT meant to be VALUES?

Hershel

  • Forum Godess / God
  • I’m (like) Lobo ;)
  • *****
  • Posts: 4640
  • Karma: 176
    • CiviHosting
  • CiviCRM version: Latest
  • CMS version: Mostly WordPress and Drupal
Re: Multi Site installation
December 30, 2012, 04:50:46 am
What error are you getting? Note that the SQL ends with cd.id = 1; not with cd.id = 1) as you have.
CiviHosting and CiviOnline -- The CiviCRM hosting experts, since 2007

See here for the official: What to do if you think you've found a bug.

Jamie074

  • I’m new here
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
  • CiviCRM version: 4.2.6
  • CMS version: drupal 7.x
  • MySQL version: 5.x
  • PHP version: 5.x
Re: Multi Site installation
December 30, 2012, 04:56:23 am
As I currently can't access the database I have to do this manually

Code: [Select]
<?php
$con 
= mysql_connect("localhost","db","pw");
if (!
$con)
  {
  die(
'Could not connect: ' . mysql_error());
  }

mysql_select_db("db", $con);

mysql_query("INSERT INTO civicrm_domain (name, description, version)
SELECT ('site', 'second site', cd.version FROM civicrm_domain cd WHERE cd.id = 1;)"
) or die(mysql_error());

echo 
"successfully inserted";


mysql_close($con);
?>


"You have an error in your SQL syntax; check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near 'FROM civicrm_domain cd WHERE cd.id = 1;)' at line 2"

My apologies if this is basic!

Hershel

  • Forum Godess / God
  • I’m (like) Lobo ;)
  • *****
  • Posts: 4640
  • Karma: 176
    • CiviHosting
  • CiviCRM version: Latest
  • CMS version: Mostly WordPress and Drupal
Re: Multi Site installation
December 30, 2012, 05:24:20 am
You have added ( and ) to the SQL. Try this:

Code: [Select]
mysql_query("INSERT INTO civicrm_domain (name, description, version)
SELECT 'site', 'second site', cd.version FROM civicrm_domain cd WHERE cd.id = 1;") or die(mysql_error());
CiviHosting and CiviOnline -- The CiviCRM hosting experts, since 2007

See here for the official: What to do if you think you've found a bug.

Jamie074

  • I’m new here
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
  • CiviCRM version: 4.2.6
  • CMS version: drupal 7.x
  • MySQL version: 5.x
  • PHP version: 5.x
Re: Multi Site installation
December 30, 2012, 05:48:28 am
Thanks Hershel, that seemed to do it! I will now return the table just to make sure it is inside :) PAIN working without phpmyadmin!

Kind regards,

Jamie

Hershel

  • Forum Godess / God
  • I’m (like) Lobo ;)
  • *****
  • Posts: 4640
  • Karma: 176
    • CiviHosting
  • CiviCRM version: Latest
  • CMS version: Mostly WordPress and Drupal
Re: Multi Site installation
December 30, 2012, 07:11:24 am
Why don't you install phpMyAdmin? :)
CiviHosting and CiviOnline -- The CiviCRM hosting experts, since 2007

See here for the official: What to do if you think you've found a bug.

Jamie074

  • I’m new here
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
  • CiviCRM version: 4.2.6
  • CMS version: drupal 7.x
  • MySQL version: 5.x
  • PHP version: 5.x
Re: Multi Site installation
December 30, 2012, 09:30:56 am
It's not my website so there we go!

Everything is gone fine so far until step 8 and 9

I can not find the: define( 'CIVICRM_DOMAIN_GROUP_ID', null );

or: define( 'CIVICRM_DOMAIN_ORG_ID'  , null );

Also seems to be missing a step 10?

I am following this:

http://wiki.civicrm.org/confluence/display/CRMDOC42/Multi+Site+Installation

Would it be okay to add those lines myself? with the right ID of course, or is this done somewhere else?

Jamie074

  • I’m new here
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
  • CiviCRM version: 4.2.6
  • CMS version: drupal 7.x
  • MySQL version: 5.x
  • PHP version: 5.x
Re: Multi Site installation
December 30, 2012, 09:40:58 am
I just realized there is no step 7 either, I hope this is a simple mistake of the wrong numbers and not missing whole steps out!

Either way I have finished step 6 and the modules are enabled on the other sites within the multi site, although there is still no civicrm tab showing as, it is showing on the main one though. Have I missed something or should they not yet be displayed at this time on the other sites within the multisite?

Apparantly it is now broken on the main site as well - just showing a blank white page.

I hope this is because I did not finish the steps, but fear the worst.

Any help would be greatly appreciated


edit#2:

Also the admin/people  is now showing up blank/white page on each site as well as the main one

what has possibly gone so wrong?

edit#3:

I have a nasty feeling it is because of the template_c folders after reading this: http://wiki.civicrm.org/confluence/display/CRMDOC40/Multi-site+Blank+Page
« Last Edit: December 30, 2012, 10:09:14 am by Jamie074 »

Jamie074

  • I’m new here
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
  • CiviCRM version: 4.2.6
  • CMS version: drupal 7.x
  • MySQL version: 5.x
  • PHP version: 5.x
Re: Multi Site installation
December 30, 2012, 10:26:49 am
I have disabled the CiviCRM module on each site and this has fixed the people page again, I shall uninstall and try again from fresh.. any help or suggestions would be highly appreciated

edit:

It won't uninstall.. comes up with a blank page, afterwards the module still exists, I will manually destroy everything in the database and FTP and try again..
« Last Edit: December 30, 2012, 10:29:37 am by Jamie074 »

Hershel

  • Forum Godess / God
  • I’m (like) Lobo ;)
  • *****
  • Posts: 4640
  • Karma: 176
    • CiviHosting
  • CiviCRM version: Latest
  • CMS version: Mostly WordPress and Drupal
Re: Multi Site installation
December 30, 2012, 11:52:33 am
I think those docs are outdated actually. Visit

civicrm/admin/setting/preferences/multisite?reset=1

on your site to "Enable Multi Site Configuration"
CiviHosting and CiviOnline -- The CiviCRM hosting experts, since 2007

See here for the official: What to do if you think you've found a bug.

Jamie074

  • I’m new here
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
  • CiviCRM version: 4.2.6
  • CMS version: drupal 7.x
  • MySQL version: 5.x
  • PHP version: 5.x
Re: Multi Site installation
December 30, 2012, 03:12:31 pm
I did do that on the main site, but not on the added sites under the multi site, I wasn't aware that I needed to do this within every site under the multi-site?

I have ran into a slight other problem after reinstalling CiviCRM, after successfully installing it throws up this error:

Exception: XML data could not be loaded. Make sure you specified the correct path. in IDS_Filter_Storage->getFilterFromXML() (line 220 of /var/www/vhosts/carolinebadley.co.uk/httpdocs/sites/all/modules/civicrm/packages/IDS/Filter/Storage.php).

I believe I need to delete the ConfigAndLog directory as well as the templates_c directory from the previous install that didn't go too well, although I don't seem to have permission through the FTP to do basically anything specifically to that civicrm folder..  strange problem but I read somewhere else on this forum that they should contact the provider for that.

Once that is sorted out I will continue and try the multi-site steps again on the page I mentioned, do you Hershel or anyone  know if with those steps it should work out or if there is any important information missing?

Thanks for your help so far Hershel, I appreciate it.






Hershel

  • Forum Godess / God
  • I’m (like) Lobo ;)
  • *****
  • Posts: 4640
  • Karma: 176
    • CiviHosting
  • CiviCRM version: Latest
  • CMS version: Mostly WordPress and Drupal
Re: Multi Site installation
December 31, 2012, 03:43:00 am
Don't delete the ConfigAndLog directory nor the templates_c directory. Just delete the contents of each of those directories. You should have permission to do that. If not, yes, ask your provider.
CiviHosting and CiviOnline -- The CiviCRM hosting experts, since 2007

See here for the official: What to do if you think you've found a bug.

Pages: [1]
  • CiviCRM Community Forums (archive) »
  • Old sections (read-only, deprecated) »
  • Support »
  • Installing CiviCRM »
  • Drupal Installations (Moderator: Piotr Szotkowski) »
  • Multi Site installation

This forum was archived on 2017-11-26.