CiviCRM Community Forums (archive)

*

News:

Have a question about CiviCRM?
Get it answered quickly at the new
CiviCRM Stack Exchange Q+A site

This forum was archived on 25 November 2017. Learn more.
How to get involved.
What to do if you think you've found a bug.



  • CiviCRM Community Forums (archive) »
  • Old sections (read-only, deprecated) »
  • Support »
  • Using CiviCRM »
  • Post-installation Setup and Configuration (Moderator: Dave Greenberg) »
  • Front-end functionality question
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Front-end functionality question  (Read 1338 times)

nuMedia

  • Guest
Front-end functionality question
April 22, 2008, 08:50:48 am
I recently changed hosting companies to get the InnoDB storage engine and the new company offered CPanel installation of Joomla! v1.0.15. I'm now getting an alert when I test CiviContribute that says I need to modify index.php for front-end functionality. I followed the instructions at #3 and now see...

Code: [Select]
// These lines are needed for proper function of CiviCRM at the frontend
session_name( md5( $mosConfig_live_site . '_frontend' ));
session_start();

// mainframe is an API workhorse, lots of 'core' interaction routines
$mainframe = new mosMainFrame( $database, $option, '.' );
$mainframe->initSession();

but, I'm still getting the error when I test. I notice that the instructions from you include the word "true" in
Code: [Select]
$mainframe = new mosMainFrame( $database, $option, '..', true ); and that you do not have the $mainframe->initSession(); line after. Can I modify this (safely) to match your instructions?

If I'm off-base in thinking this might be the problem, can you offer any further instructions for troubleshooting?

In advance, thank you!
nuMedia

FatherShawn

  • Ask me questions
  • ****
  • Posts: 372
  • Karma: 25
    • C3 Design
  • CiviCRM version: 4.2.11
  • CMS version: Drupal 7.23
  • MySQL version: 5.5.32
  • PHP version: 5.3.10
Re: Front-end functionality question
April 22, 2008, 09:45:22 am
The $mainframe expression is not the source of your troubles.  My 1.0.15 code reads the same way.  As the wiki notes, this line varies depending on which 1.0.x version of Joomla is edited.

Are sessions working correctly for the backend?
Lead Developer, C3 Design.
Twitter: @FatherShawn

nuMedia

  • Guest
Re: Front-end functionality question
April 22, 2008, 11:05:03 am
Thank you, Father Shawn...

I found, as you said, that the $mainframe expression was not the problem. In fact, I went ahead and changed it and then got errors that the template couldn't be found. Eye-yi-yi!

So, now I'm back to the original configuration. And, no... I don't think sessions are working correctly on the back-end. I am such a "noob" I'm not sure what all is going on. I actually think I'm having multiple problems including having to login to Joomla! multiple times when using CiviCRM. This didn't start happening until after I had the SSL certificate installed. I read somewhere that its location/configuration can cause conflicts. I also know I don't have PayPal Website Payments Pro set up correctly (or maybe it's just not fully set up). Here's my experience... any help/advice is greatly appreciated:

Problem #1:
I'm working to develop this site: http://www.halleyswebdev.com/tccokc   with The Children's Center being the client. This, of course, is a development site and one I have to transfer to production... soon! My multiple login problems begin after I arrive at the CiviCRM dashboard. When I click on any sub-area (CiviContribute, for instance), I have to login again and the URL says: http://halleyswebdev.com/tccokc/administrator/index.php?mosmsg=Admin%20Session%20Expired.

If I login there, the URL stays http://halleyswebdev.com/tccokc/administrator... etc. and I am at the CiviContribute dashboard. However, if I click "Create and Manage Contribution Pages" once again, I get thrown out to the login panel and the URL now says:
https://halleyswebdev.com/tccokc/administrator/index.php?mosmsg=Admin%20Session%20Expired

If I login AGAIN I can work within CiviCRM without problems. This is the end of the MULTIPLE LOGIN problem. Here is some configuration information:
  • The SSL certificate is listed as "www.halleyswebdev.com"
  • My configuration.php file reads:
Code: [Select]
$mosConfig_live_site = 'http://www.halleyswebdev.com/tccokc';
  • My civicrm_settings.php file reads:
Code: [Select]
define( 'CIVICRM_UF_BASEURL'      , 'http://www.halleyswebdev.com/tccokc/' );

    This may not even be the correct, or helpful, information to provide... I'm totally stumped. And, I'm going to save the PayPal questions/problems for another post. If you want to experience the problem, click on the "Donate Now!" button on the HOME page and use this "sandbox" info for the credit card info (all the other info can be fake).

    Visa   4391 8687 5453 3320  (the spaces are not necessary... just for better readability)
    Exp Date:  4/2018

    I'm getting "gateway decline" and "invalid parameter" errors. Anyone out there a PayPal set-up consultant? I'd pay!... gladly!


    Again, thank you in advance for any assistance,
    nuMedia

    FatherShawn

    • Ask me questions
    • ****
    • Posts: 372
    • Karma: 25
      • C3 Design
    • CiviCRM version: 4.2.11
    • CMS version: Drupal 7.23
    • MySQL version: 5.5.32
    • PHP version: 5.3.10
    Re: Front-end functionality question
    April 22, 2008, 04:00:43 pm
    This almost certainly sounds like a general problem with sessions rather than CiviCRM.  The key indicator is being kicked out of the backend as you describe.

    I think that a very common cause of such problems lies with the server set-up.  The location in the file system where php saves session data must be "writeable" by the user that "owns" the php script.  This is something that the Joomla installer checks for, but since you didn't actually run the installer, you can't be sure that the correct permissions are on this location.  I would recommend that you ask your host to check.
    Lead Developer, C3 Design.
    Twitter: @FatherShawn

    Pages: [1]
    • CiviCRM Community Forums (archive) »
    • Old sections (read-only, deprecated) »
    • Support »
    • Using CiviCRM »
    • Post-installation Setup and Configuration (Moderator: Dave Greenberg) »
    • Front-end functionality question

    This forum was archived on 2017-11-26.