CiviCRM Community Forums (archive)

*

News:

Have a question about CiviCRM?
Get it answered quickly at the new
CiviCRM Stack Exchange Q+A site

This forum was archived on 25 November 2017. Learn more.
How to get involved.
What to do if you think you've found a bug.



  • CiviCRM Community Forums (archive) »
  • Old sections (read-only, deprecated) »
  • Support »
  • Using CiviCRM »
  • Post-installation Setup and Configuration (Moderator: Dave Greenberg) »
  • x_description and SOURCE field (per CRM-2055)
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: x_description and SOURCE field (per CRM-2055)  (Read 2114 times)

backdrifting

  • I post frequently
  • ***
  • Posts: 178
  • Karma: 2
x_description and SOURCE field (per CRM-2055)
April 28, 2008, 10:23:42 am
I'm running CiviCRM 2.x with Drupal 5.7.  I have a contribution page that processes to our Authorize.net account.  Everything is working smoothly and test transactions are processing.  However we want the x_description field to get populated in our Authorize.net account (for each transaction line item).  I read in the bug tracker (CRM-2055) that this issue had been fixed in CiviCRM 2 but it still looks like it's there.  I have the SOURCE field in my CiviCRM form filled out - it's pre-populating with "Online Contribution - Name of Form" but this is not showing up in the line item or the View of the transaction in Authorize.net.  So it doesn't appear to be translating over.

Basically in Authorize.net the "description field" remains empty.  For example:

Invoice Number : fa0d30cb9b4fc563bab6
Description :
Total : 10.00 (USD)
Payment Method : MasterCard

Does anyone have suggestions on how to get this working?

Thanks,

Trevor
« Last Edit: April 28, 2008, 10:26:32 am by backdrifting »

backdrifting

  • I post frequently
  • ***
  • Posts: 178
  • Karma: 2
Re: x_description and SOURCE field (per CRM-2055)
April 28, 2008, 12:09:07 pm
Would I need to add the API URL into the payment processor settings (for Authorize.net) to get this field to work/translate over?

Where in CiviCRM is the actual description field that is the same field that translates over to Authorize.net?  There are many description fields in CiviContribute - I've tested them all but that value is still not translating?  Where is the data getting pulled from?

From the original bug report on this there is this post:
added a description field to the paymentParams that get sent to all payment processors. This is currently the same value as the 'source' field


But I don't see where this field is in any of the settings in CiviCRM, and also, where is the SOURCE field??

« Last Edit: April 28, 2008, 12:17:38 pm by backdrifting »

Donald Lobo

  • Administrator
  • I’m (like) Lobo ;)
  • *****
  • Posts: 15963
  • Karma: 470
    • CiviCRM site
  • CiviCRM version: 4.2+
  • CMS version: Drupal 7, Joomla 2.5+
  • MySQL version: 5.5.x
  • PHP version: 5.4.x
Re: x_description and SOURCE field (per CRM-2055)
April 28, 2008, 12:23:24 pm

Authorize.net is a community contribution and as such is not maintained or tested by the core team

However this seemed quite trivial and i think i patched it for 2.0.3. I do not have an account etc to test. Can you apply this patch and let us know if it does / does not work

http://biryani.osuosl.org:8181/changelog/CiviCRM/branches/v2.0/CRM/Core/Payment?cs=14048

thanx

lobo

A new CiviCRM Q&A resource needs YOUR help to get started. Visit our StackExchange proposed site, sign up and vote on 5 questions

backdrifting

  • I post frequently
  • ***
  • Posts: 178
  • Karma: 2
Re: x_description and SOURCE field (per CRM-2055)
April 28, 2008, 12:37:42 pm
Excellent.  Thanks for the help.  Stupid question from me ... to apply the patch do I just copy out the code (from the patch link) and paste it into the PHP file here:

branches/v2.0/CRM/Core/Payment/AuthorizeNet.php

So it would go in the AuthorizeNet.php file?

Should I just add the code to the end of that file?


Donald Lobo

  • Administrator
  • I’m (like) Lobo ;)
  • *****
  • Posts: 15963
  • Karma: 470
    • CiviCRM site
  • CiviCRM version: 4.2+
  • CMS version: Drupal 7, Joomla 2.5+
  • MySQL version: 5.5.x
  • PHP version: 5.4.x
Re: x_description and SOURCE field (per CRM-2055)
April 28, 2008, 12:42:22 pm

you might want to read:

http://drupal.org/patch/apply
http://linux.about.com/od/commands/l/blcmdl1_patch.htm

You can apply the patch or do it manually. The automated way is better and will catch errors if any

lobo
A new CiviCRM Q&A resource needs YOUR help to get started. Visit our StackExchange proposed site, sign up and vote on 5 questions

backdrifting

  • I post frequently
  • ***
  • Posts: 178
  • Karma: 2
Re: x_description and SOURCE field (per CRM-2055)
April 28, 2008, 12:46:02 pm
It looks like the only thing missing from the AuthorizeNet.php file is the:

+        $fields['x_description'] = $this->_getParam( 'description' );

This is the added field in the patch it looks like.

That being said, I'll review the doc on applying the patch, however it would make sense just to add the description field line to the PHP file directly under the x_currency_code line?



backdrifting

  • I post frequently
  • ***
  • Posts: 178
  • Karma: 2
Re: x_description and SOURCE field (per CRM-2055)
April 28, 2008, 12:47:19 pm
Additionally I don't have terminal/command line access so I won't be able to apply it automatically.  My host doesn't allow command line.  Any other suggestions?


backdrifting

  • I post frequently
  • ***
  • Posts: 178
  • Karma: 2
Re: x_description and SOURCE field (per CRM-2055)
April 28, 2008, 12:48:12 pm
How do you do it manually?  By my fist suggestion ... just adding that line of code into the PHP file?


backdrifting

  • I post frequently
  • ***
  • Posts: 178
  • Karma: 2
Re: x_description and SOURCE field (per CRM-2055)
April 28, 2008, 12:54:18 pm
I got it to work!!!  Thanks!  I just added that one line per my question ... and now the description is processing to our Authorize.net account.  Perfect.

Thanks again for pointing me to that patch.  So the question is - this patch only works for version 2?  Could I run this patch on version 1.9?

backdrifting

  • I post frequently
  • ***
  • Posts: 178
  • Karma: 2
Re: x_description and SOURCE field (per CRM-2055)
April 28, 2008, 02:02:14 pm
It doesn't work with version 1.9 ... but you probably already knew this.  But it does work with 2.x.  Thanks again for helping out!


Pages: [1]
  • CiviCRM Community Forums (archive) »
  • Old sections (read-only, deprecated) »
  • Support »
  • Using CiviCRM »
  • Post-installation Setup and Configuration (Moderator: Dave Greenberg) »
  • x_description and SOURCE field (per CRM-2055)

This forum was archived on 2017-11-26.