CiviCRM Community Forums (archive)

*

News:

Have a question about CiviCRM?
Get it answered quickly at the new
CiviCRM Stack Exchange Q+A site

This forum was archived on 25 November 2017. Learn more.
How to get involved.
What to do if you think you've found a bug.



  • CiviCRM Community Forums (archive) »
  • Old sections (read-only, deprecated) »
  • Support »
  • Installing CiviCRM »
  • Joomla! Installations (Moderator: Deepak Srivastava) »
  • Can't get CivicRM to install
Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: Can't get CivicRM to install  (Read 8425 times)

businessbroker

  • Guest
Re: Can't get CivicRM to install
July 15, 2008, 05:32:21 pm
any PHP settings need to be in the php.ini file, not in the .htaccess
so all changes must be done on php.ini file..
that's the memory_limit setting mentioned before - that joomla/filesystem path probably does not have it set higher than 32M
the solution look to be this: http://www.joomla-addons.org/easyfaq/view/easy-gallery/allowed-memory-size-of-xxx-bytes-exhausted/158.html
on this file: civicrm.settings.php.sample there is by default the memory limit of 32mb so maybe i need to grow up it to 64 mb? I have done also adding file civicrm.settings.php with 64mb, but I have again the same error:

Fatal error: Allowed memory size of 33554432 bytes exhausted (tried to allocate 71 bytes) in /home1/estufeco/public_html/test/includes/domit/xml_domit_lite_parser.php on line 135

so the problem could be in script of joomla? where i can change the memory limit in joomla?

businessbroker

  • Guest
Re: Can't get CivicRM to install
July 15, 2008, 05:40:53 pm
I have added  the code line
ini_set('memory_limit','64M');
in the file "configuration.php" of my Joomla installation
and now say: Upload new component - Success  !!!

tombehrens

  • Guest
Re: Can't get CivicRM to install
July 15, 2008, 07:50:37 pm
I tried the same code snippet, and it did not work.   ???

speleo

  • Ask me questions
  • ****
  • Posts: 396
  • Karma: 28
  • CiviCRM version: 4.3.1
  • CMS version: J! 2.5,9
  • MySQL version: 5.1
  • PHP version: 5.3.24
Re: Can't get CivicRM to install
July 15, 2008, 11:12:54 pm
33554432 is 32MB of memory. You haven't got enough memory to install. Hence the need to modify the your php environment. You need to allocate more memory.

OK..so when you add the lines to .htaccess you get an internal server error. Have you looked at your logs (apache, etc) to see what the error is?

Try just adding the php_value memory_limit 64M line. Where does that get you?

businessbroker

  • Guest
Re: Can't get CivicRM to install
July 15, 2008, 11:42:18 pm
bluehost.com told me to don't use .htaccess for memory allowing, I dont know why, and that i could change a configuration file into joomla, ad I done it successfully adding the last line into code of configuration.php

from this:
..............
$mosConfig_frontend_login = '1';
$mosConfig_frontend_userparams = '1';
$mosConfig_itemid_compat = '0';
setlocale (LC_TIME, $mosConfig_locale);
?>

to this:

................
$mosConfig_frontend_login = '1';
$mosConfig_frontend_userparams = '1';
$mosConfig_itemid_compat = '0';
setlocale (LC_TIME, $mosConfig_locale);
ini_set('memory_limit','64M');
?>

-----------
and I installed civicrm correctly in less of a minute

lcdweb

  • Forum Godess / God
  • I live on this forum
  • *****
  • Posts: 1620
  • Karma: 116
    • www.lcdservices.biz
  • CiviCRM version: many versions...
  • CMS version: Joomla/Drupal
  • MySQL version: 5.1+
  • PHP version: 5.2+
Re: Can't get CivicRM to install
July 16, 2008, 01:26:35 pm
There are two main issues going around in this post. It's great to piggy-back on posts, but since different people have different issues (and error messages), you might need to slow down and figure out the problem specific to your situation.

1) Memory issues. Symptom -- white screen or timeout message.
You need to make sure EITHER your .htaccess or php.ini file has the correct settings. Different hosting providers allow you to modify these settings in different ways (and some, like Siteground, doesn't let you alter them at all). You need to find out from your hosting provider which way they allow. Generally speaking, .htaccess is preferred because it's easier (it can change the settings throughout your site space with a single file). But some (like Bluehost) require alterations to be made in php.ini files, which only affect the actual folder in which that file is located (look at their knowledgebase for guidance).

2) Installation from directory issues. If you get a message saying the package isn't found or something to that effect, the bottom line is that you haven't put the full, correct path of the com_civicrm unpacked files (or you haven't unpacked them properly). There's no magic. Look in the cPanel file manager, talk to your hosting provider, -- whatever -- locate the folder location from the root. If you continue to get the error message, you still don't have the right folder location. Joomla can't read minds. It only reads directories and files.
support CiviCRM through 'make it happen' initiatives!
http://civicrm.org/mih

tombehrens

  • Guest
Re: Can't get CivicRM to install
August 03, 2008, 07:07:09 pm
I have tried everything in this post.  The php.ini file has been changed to have the recommended settings, and what appears to be the correct directory location is being used.  I'm still getting the server error:

Internal Server Error
The server encountered an internal error or misconfiguration and was unable to complete your request.


...and CiviCRM does not install.

I'm terribly frustrated at this point, as CiviCRM 1.x installed so effortlessly on another Joomla 1.0.15 site.

Any other suggestions would be greatly appreciated. 

businessbroker

  • Guest
Re: Can't get CivicRM to install
August 04, 2008, 05:23:51 am
I think the solution of your problem is here:
http://forum.civicrm.org/index.php/topic,1974.msg8562.html#msg8562
please give me 1 karma point, I'm at -2!
I think your host is similar to blouehost.com and you must put php.ini fiel in any folder, not only on the root, and in installation einstructions don't explain this..

tombehrens

  • Guest
Re: Can't get CivicRM to install
August 10, 2008, 07:46:29 pm
Gang, I've tried every suggestion here in the forums.  Change php.ini in all folders, add .htaccess file with instructions, etc., etc., and I am still nowhere.  At this point, I would be willing to pay someone out of my own pocket for the non profit I am assisting to help me get CiviCRM installed.  I am frustrated and stymied at this point, and don't understand why this new version is so difficult to get installed.

Somebody please help.

businessbroker

  • Guest
Re: Can't get CivicRM to install
August 10, 2008, 11:42:03 pm
if I remember good, the internal server error is because your serverdon't accept the .htaccess command .
could you please give the exact error you receive?
anddo one step per time and not one over the other?
which web hoting are you using?
I use bluehost.com and is all right
you are installing on joomla, drupal or standalone?

Donald Lobo

  • Administrator
  • I’m (like) Lobo ;)
  • *****
  • Posts: 15963
  • Karma: 470
    • CiviCRM site
  • CiviCRM version: 4.2+
  • CMS version: Drupal 7, Joomla 2.5+
  • MySQL version: 5.5.x
  • PHP version: 5.4.x
Re: Can't get CivicRM to install
August 10, 2008, 11:46:26 pm

You might want to contact WebAccess from our CiviCRM professional listing page: http://civicrm.org/professional/ to get CiviCRM installed

lobo
A new CiviCRM Q&A resource needs YOUR help to get started. Visit our StackExchange proposed site, sign up and vote on 5 questions

hp3kman

  • I post occasionally
  • **
  • Posts: 74
  • Karma: 4
Re: Can't get CivicRM to install
August 19, 2008, 07:03:45 pm
I feel your pain, all...I've been there, and it hurts! ;-)

OK, OK, so it might not be officially supported, but the ONLY way I've ever gotten this to install is by doing so manually as in my post http://forum.civicrm.org/index.php/topic,4433.0.html.

Works every time in less than a minute!

Try it -- you might like it!

BTW -- CiviCRM is WORTH THE EFFORT; please don't give up, there's lots of help out there in the forums, sometimes it's just not where you're looking.

Pages: 1 [2]
  • CiviCRM Community Forums (archive) »
  • Old sections (read-only, deprecated) »
  • Support »
  • Installing CiviCRM »
  • Joomla! Installations (Moderator: Deepak Srivastava) »
  • Can't get CivicRM to install

This forum was archived on 2017-11-26.