CiviCRM Community Forums (archive)

*

News:

Have a question about CiviCRM?
Get it answered quickly at the new
CiviCRM Stack Exchange Q+A site

This forum was archived on 25 November 2017. Learn more.
How to get involved.
What to do if you think you've found a bug.



  • CiviCRM Community Forums (archive) »
  • Old sections (read-only, deprecated) »
  • Support »
  • Installing CiviCRM »
  • Joomla! Installations (Moderator: Deepak Srivastava) »
  • database error
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: database error  (Read 2908 times)

thomasdravai

  • Guest
database error
June 25, 2007, 01:45:49 am
i have a problem when i am installing CivicCRM

Cannot execute -- * - * -- * -- * CREATE TABLE civicrm_country ( id int unsigned NOT NULL AUTO_INCREMENT COMMENT 'Country Id', name varchar(64) COMMENT 'Country Name', iso_code char(2) COMMENT 'ISO Code', country_code varchar(4) COMMENT 'National prefix to be used when dialing TO this country.', idd_prefix varchar(4) COMMENT 'International direct dialing prefix from within the country TO another country', ndd_prefix varchar(4) COMMENT 'Access prefix to call within a country to a different area' , PRIMARY KEY ( id ) , UNIQUE INDEX UI_name_iso_code( name , iso_code ) ) ENGINE=InnoDB DEFAULT CHARACTER SET utf8 COLLATE utf8_unicode_ci: DB Error: syntax error

 i use Joomla 1.0.12 and my configuartion detalis are:

PHP built On:  Linux kw2.kiwiwebs.co.nz 2.4.32-ow1 #1 SMP Fri Jan 13 09:24:40 NZDT 2006 i686 
Database Version:  4.0.24_Debian-10sarge2-log 
PHP Version:  4.4.7 
Web Server:  Apache/1.3.37 (Unix) PHP/4.4.7 mod_gzip/1.3.26.1a FrontPage/5.0.2.2635 mod_ssl/2.8.28 OpenSSL/0.9.7e 
WebServer to PHP interface:  apache 
Joomla! Version:  Joomla! 1.0.12 Stable [ Sunfire ] 25 December 2006 01:00 UTC 
User Agent:  Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 7.0; Windows NT 5.1) 

Donald Lobo

  • Administrator
  • I’m (like) Lobo ;)
  • *****
  • Posts: 15963
  • Karma: 470
    • CiviCRM site
  • CiviCRM version: 4.2+
  • CMS version: Drupal 7, Joomla 2.5+
  • MySQL version: 5.5.x
  • PHP version: 5.4.x
Re: database error
June 25, 2007, 07:24:46 am

You will have to upgrade your database version to a more recent version (4.1.x or 5.x). v1.7 only supports 4.1.x or higher

lobo
A new CiviCRM Q&A resource needs YOUR help to get started. Visit our StackExchange proposed site, sign up and vote on 5 questions

over the river

  • Guest
Re: database error
October 21, 2007, 11:54:48 pm
This is the information on my phpMyAdmin/index.php:

Quote
phpMyAdmin - 2.10.0.2

* MySQL client version: 4.1.22

So it seems that I do have 4.1.X or higher (btw- I wouldn't know how to upgrade if I needed to.)

Now what?

Donald Lobo

  • Administrator
  • I’m (like) Lobo ;)
  • *****
  • Posts: 15963
  • Karma: 470
    • CiviCRM site
  • CiviCRM version: 4.2+
  • CMS version: Drupal 7, Joomla 2.5+
  • MySQL version: 5.5.x
  • PHP version: 5.4.x
Re: database error
October 22, 2007, 12:04:27 am

This seems a mysql specific version issue and we dont know why some versions of mysql dont like the sql format (while most other versions do). You will have to experiment on your end and figure out what changes are needed to get mysql to accept the code.

lobo
A new CiviCRM Q&A resource needs YOUR help to get started. Visit our StackExchange proposed site, sign up and vote on 5 questions

over the river

  • Guest
Re: database error
October 22, 2007, 03:35:07 am
Donald,

Now you really left me out to dry.

Could you please give me a hint as to where I should be experimenting?

I hope that this can be done with out having to re-write Joomla from the ground because I wouldn't know where to  to start.

Donald Lobo

  • Administrator
  • I’m (like) Lobo ;)
  • *****
  • Posts: 15963
  • Karma: 470
    • CiviCRM site
  • CiviCRM version: 4.2+
  • CMS version: Drupal 7, Joomla 2.5+
  • MySQL version: 5.5.x
  • PHP version: 5.4.x
Re: database error
October 22, 2007, 01:33:10 pm

I think you have a couple of options:

1. Upgrade your mysql to a more recent version (5.0.x). Please contact your hosting provider / system admin if u need help to do so

2. Edit the civicrm sql and delete all comments and check to see if this works. This is a manual process, prone to error and not really recommended. Also you will have to repeat the same exercise when you want to upgrade civicrm

lobo
A new CiviCRM Q&A resource needs YOUR help to get started. Visit our StackExchange proposed site, sign up and vote on 5 questions

over the river

  • Guest
Re: database error
October 22, 2007, 11:34:52 pm
Quote from: Donald Lobo on October 22, 2007, 01:33:10 pm

2. Edit the civicrm sql and delete all comments and check to see if this works. This is a manual process, prone to error and not really recommended. Also you will have to repeat the same exercise when you want to upgrade civicrm

lobo


Where do I find the civicrm sql?

Donald Lobo

  • Administrator
  • I’m (like) Lobo ;)
  • *****
  • Posts: 15963
  • Karma: 470
    • CiviCRM site
  • CiviCRM version: 4.2+
  • CMS version: Drupal 7, Joomla 2.5+
  • MySQL version: 5.5.x
  • PHP version: 5.4.x
Re: database error
October 22, 2007, 11:51:42 pm

sql/civicrm_41.mysql

A new CiviCRM Q&A resource needs YOUR help to get started. Visit our StackExchange proposed site, sign up and vote on 5 questions

over the river

  • Guest
Re: database error
October 23, 2007, 02:26:09 am
Quote from: Donald Lobo on October 22, 2007, 01:33:10 pm


2. Edit the civicrm sql and delete all comments and check to see if this works.


Is all coments everything under:
Code: [Select]
DROP TABLE IF EXISTS civicrm_domain;
DROP TABLE IF EXISTS civicrm_custom_option;
DROP TABLE IF EXISTS civicrm_currency;
DROP TABLE IF EXISTS civicrm_country;
?

Donald Lobo

  • Administrator
  • I’m (like) Lobo ;)
  • *****
  • Posts: 15963
  • Karma: 470
    • CiviCRM site
  • CiviCRM version: 4.2+
  • CMS version: Drupal 7, Joomla 2.5+
  • MySQL version: 5.5.x
  • PHP version: 5.4.x
Re: database error
October 23, 2007, 12:59:26 pm

Please ask a local person who is a bit familiar with SQL to help you with this. Alternatively you can hire someone from our professional services listing (http://civicrm.org/professional/)

As i mentioned before, upgrading mysql is probably the easiest option

lobo
A new CiviCRM Q&A resource needs YOUR help to get started. Visit our StackExchange proposed site, sign up and vote on 5 questions

Pages: [1]
  • CiviCRM Community Forums (archive) »
  • Old sections (read-only, deprecated) »
  • Support »
  • Installing CiviCRM »
  • Joomla! Installations (Moderator: Deepak Srivastava) »
  • database error

This forum was archived on 2017-11-26.