CiviCRM Community Forums (archive)

*

News:

Have a question about CiviCRM?
Get it answered quickly at the new
CiviCRM Stack Exchange Q+A site

This forum was archived on 25 November 2017. Learn more.
How to get involved.
What to do if you think you've found a bug.



  • CiviCRM Community Forums (archive) »
  • Old sections (read-only, deprecated) »
  • Support »
  • Upgrading CiviCRM (Moderator: Deepak Srivastava) »
  • Cannot execute UPDATE jos_menu - upgrade from 1.7 to 1.8
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Cannot execute UPDATE jos_menu - upgrade from 1.7 to 1.8  (Read 2395 times)

Chan Kong-sang

  • Guest
Cannot execute UPDATE jos_menu - upgrade from 1.7 to 1.8
July 31, 2007, 03:59:02 am
Hello,
after upgrading from civicrm-1.7.9821-joomla-php4 to civicrm-1.8.beta.10594-joomla-php4 i get following error:
Code: [Select]
Cannot execute UPDATE jos_menu SET published = 1 WHERE link LIKE CONVERT( _utf8 'index.php?option=com_civicrm' USING latin1 ) COLLATE latin1_swedish_ci AND published = -2 : DB Error: unknown errorBecause of earlier collation problems with another component/bridge (com_smf_2_0_2) i've executed following script to ensure all tables are utf8. So i don't understand why in the error message is something mentioned with latin...
Code: [Select]
<?php
$dbname 
= 'YOUR_DBNAME';
mysql_connect('127.0.0.1', 'DBUSERNAME', 'DBPASSWORD');
mysql_query("ALTER DATABASE `$dbname` DEFAULT CHARACTER SET utf8 COLLATE utf8_general_ci");
$res = mysql_query("SHOW TABLES FROM `$dbname`");
while(
$row = mysql_fetch_row($res)) {
   
$query = "ALTER TABLE {$dbname}.`{$row[0]}` CONVERT TO CHARACTER SET utf8 COLLATE utf8_general_ci";
   
mysql_query($query);
   
$query = "ALTER TABLE {$dbname}.`{$row[0]}` DEFAULT CHARACTER SET utf8 COLLATE utf8_general_ci";
   
mysql_query($query);
}
echo 
'all tables converted';
?>
I had no problems with civicrm-1.7.9821-joomla-php4.

Is there some way i can correct the error above? Since civicrm-1.7.9821-joomla-php4 was a fresh install would it help if i install civicrm-1.8.beta.10594-joomla-php4 from scratch (i've upgraded to 1.8 to hope the euro symbol will be shown correctly)?

Piotr Szotkowski

  • I live on this forum
  • *****
  • Posts: 1497
  • Karma: 57
Re: Cannot execute UPDATE jos_menu - upgrade from 1.7 to 1.8
July 31, 2007, 04:25:34 am
My guess would be that you may have your database (and its contents) converted, but Joomla still tries to operate on it in ISO-8859-1 (Latin 1) mode. The query you cited is not issued by CiviCRM; you should ask about this on Joomla forum.

Quote from: Chan Kong-sang on July 31, 2007, 03:59:02 am
Since civicrm-1.7.9821-joomla-php4 was a fresh install would it help if i install civicrm-1.8.beta.10594-joomla-php4 from scratch?

I don’t think this would solve your problem; there was nothing encoding-related that we changed/added in CiviCRM 1.8.

Quote from: Chan Kong-sang on July 31, 2007, 03:59:02 am
I’ve upgraded to 1.8 to hope the euro symbol will be shown correctly

The problem with display of the Euro symbol is not CiviCRM-related, so the upgrade will not solve it. If you don’t see the Euro symbol correctly (i.e., you see € instead of €), it means Joomla is not serving your pages as UTF-8 – this might also be the reason behind the error above as well.
If you found the above helpful, please consider helping us in return – you can even steer CiviCRM’s future and help us extend CiviCRM in ways useful to you.

Chan Kong-sang

  • Guest
Re: Cannot execute UPDATE jos_menu - upgrade from 1.7 to 1.8
July 31, 2007, 08:29:15 am
Quote from: Piotr Szotkowski on July 31, 2007, 04:25:34 am
Quote from: Chan Kong-sang on July 31, 2007, 03:59:02 am
Since civicrm-1.7.9821-joomla-php4 was a fresh install would it help if i install civicrm-1.8.beta.10594-joomla-php4 from scratch?

I don’t think this would solve your problem; there was nothing encoding-related that we changed/added in CiviCRM 1.8.
I just tried a new installation and the problem above is gone.

Quote from: Piotr Szotkowski on July 31, 2007, 04:25:34 am
My guess would be that you may have your database (and its contents) converted, but Joomla still tries to operate on it in ISO-8859-1 (Latin 1) mode. The query you cited is not issued by CiviCRM; you should ask about this on Joomla forum.
Quote from: Piotr Szotkowski on July 31, 2007, 04:25:34 am
Quote from: Chan Kong-sang on July 31, 2007, 03:59:02 am
I’ve upgraded to 1.8 to hope the euro symbol will be shown correctly
The problem with display of the Euro symbol is not CiviCRM-related, so the upgrade will not solve it. If you don’t see the Euro symbol correctly (i.e., you see € instead of €), it means Joomla is not serving your pages as UTF-8 – this might also be the reason behind the error above as well.
There are so many problems with Joomla and UTF-8... and i couldn't find a particular answer to my question but after reading some threads a problem could be that my MySQL database is 4.0.24 and not 4.1.2...

Piotr Szotkowski

  • I live on this forum
  • *****
  • Posts: 1497
  • Karma: 57
Re: Cannot execute UPDATE jos_menu - upgrade from 1.7 to 1.8
August 01, 2007, 12:40:31 am
Yeah, Joomla 1.0 is not really working with UTF-8 too well. Fortunately, this will be addressed by the upcoming Joomla 1.5.

As for the database issue – first, MySQL 4.0 indeed does not have sane UTF-8 support. Second, CiviCRM 1.8 does not work with it; CiviCRM 1.8 requires MySQL 4.1 (and CiviCRM 2 will require MySQL 5).
If you found the above helpful, please consider helping us in return – you can even steer CiviCRM’s future and help us extend CiviCRM in ways useful to you.

Pages: [1]
  • CiviCRM Community Forums (archive) »
  • Old sections (read-only, deprecated) »
  • Support »
  • Upgrading CiviCRM (Moderator: Deepak Srivastava) »
  • Cannot execute UPDATE jos_menu - upgrade from 1.7 to 1.8

This forum was archived on 2017-11-26.